November 18, 2011

Is a goal scored when the whistle for "time" is blown at the same time?

This is an attemt to clarify four (4) common questions about scoring a goal at the end of a quarter or a half.

1. If a shooter takes a successful shot at the same time as the umpire blows the whistle for time – is a goal scored?

Normally the answer depends on the following, stated as per Rule 15.1.iv.
"If the whistle for an interval or "time" is blown before the ball has passed completely through the ring, no goal is scored."
So only if the ball has passed completely through the ring when the whistle is blown, a goal is scored. If a part of the ball is still above the ring when the whistle is blown, then no goal is scored. Simple as that.

2. If a shooter is taking a shot after the timer/scorer has called time but before the umpire blows the whistle to signal time – does the goal count?

The whistle is the only signal that is important. If the ball has passed completely through the ring after the timer called time, but before the whistle is blown, the goal counts.

3. What if the shot is not successful and there's an infringement involved at the same time? What happens then? 

Consider this example from New Zealand Rules Committee:

As White GS shoots for goal, Black GK contacts White GS. This affects White GS’s play. At the same moment as Umpire A blows the whistle to penalise the contact, Umpire B blows the whistle for time. Is the action
  1. End the half without taking the penalty as the whistle for "time" had been blown before the penalty was awarded, or
  2. allow the Penalty Pass or Shot to be taken and then end the game.
Rule reference - Rule 2.4:
"When a Penalty Pass or Shot is awarded and not taken before the whistle is blown to end a quarter or half, the player shall be allowed to take the penalty [refer Rule 15.1.(v)]."
When the whistle to award the penalty is blown at the same time as the whistle for "time" the umpire must allow time for the penalty pass or shot to be taken. Umpire A is the umpire in control of the play so will acknowledge the whistle by Umpire B to show time is up, but must allow White to take the penalty pass or shot as stated in Rule 2.4. If the goal is successful Umpire A will blow the whistle to signal this (no arm raised for the end of the game is required as Umpire B has already done this). If the goal is not successful no whistle is required to show the end of the game as Umpire B has already blown this.

4. But what if White GS in the above example shoots a successful shot in spite of the contact? 

Well, then advantage would apply and the goal would be allowed. It would be to the disadvantage of the white team otherwise.

No comments:

Post a Comment